在连续几起备受关注的失信案件后,2020年1月1日,议会对新加坡《刑法典》进行了修改。其中最重要的更改为第49条,涉及对“专业代理人”的定义,并扩大其范围,将受客户包括普通民众委托,对财务进行保管的人列入其中。

什么是失信罪?它的构成因素有哪些?

《刑法典》第405章中规定,如果有人将财产委托给他人,但受委托人挪用财产,或转移财产为自用,或违反了合同或法律中的规定,那么受委托人就将构成失信罪。

如上所述,失信罪有三个简单的构成要素,简单概括为:

  • 受委托保管或支配财务
  • 财物挪用或转移
  • 欺诈

以上三个要素是决定当事人是否违反了失信罪,或是其他类别的罪行。

受委托保管或支配财务:换言之,受委托人根据法律或合同的要求,对委托人规定的财物、货币基金或财产进行监管及一般控制。

如果收到的财物是出于个人的用途或目的,则不满足的委托要素。委托的情况包括:接收他人资金并代表他人用于投资;接收他人财物用于保管或运输;接收财产管理人或遗嘱执行人的资金,之后要将其分配给收益。

财物挪用或转移:这意味着,受托财物被用于非委托人计划内的意图。在Tan Tze Chye v PP 一案中,对挪用的解释为:抽取财物,或将财物过户给错的人或错误使用财物。因此,受托人在委托人要求其交出委托财物的情况下拒绝配合行动,那么将被视为将财物留作己用。

欺诈:欺诈是在考虑当事人是否违反了失信罪的关键因素。在《刑法典》第24章中规定,欺诈是指当某人为获取不正当收益而行事或使他人蒙受不法损失。

在另外一起案件Er Joo Nguang and another v Public Prosecutor – 中我们可以看到,很少有直接的证据证明一个人有欺诈的意图,但是可以从被告的行为以及与其相关的其他行动和事情中推断中来。例如一个人在明知道特定款项是用于特定意图的情况下,不通知财物主或在其不知情的情况下,将财物用作其他用途。这中行为则可以被视为欺诈行为。

失信罪的惩罚

在《刑法典》中列出了几种不同类型的失信罪,以及相应的结果,这都将取决于受托资产的范围及程度。

  • 对于不属于以下类别之一的任何人,最高可处以7年以下有期徒刑和/或罚款;
  • 受拖保管出租财产或承租运输财物的人,最高可处15年徒刑和/或罚款;
  • 雇员或以雇员身份行事的任何人,如被赋予财产,将处以15年以下有期徒刑和/或罚款;
  • 公务员,银行业者,代理商,商人,高级管理人员,董事,合伙人,主要管理人员或负有信托责任的人,最高可处20年徒刑和/或罚款。

法院将考虑各种情况,以评估罪行的严重性和适当的刑罚:

  • 罪行持续的时间,
  • 委托财物的价值,
  • 被告是否就罪行作了任何赔偿,
  • 除了失信罪外,被告是否还面临其他指控,
  • 该罪行对受害者,其他人和公众的影响。

总结

在新加坡失信罪是严重的违法行为。修改法律后,立法者在处理那些与专业代理人/公务员相关的失信案件时,有更强大的法律支持。将自己的资产托付给他人的个人或公司,应始时刻警惕合同的脆弱性,并应寻求专业的法律建议,以防止失信罪。

Similar articles

离婚理由

离婚理由

在新加坡民事离婚案件受《妇女宪章》管辖。在这篇文章中,我们将详细讲解在新加坡提出离婚的原因。 申请离婚的资格和限制 根据妇女宪章第93和94...

10.25.2020
Read more
制止函

制止函

律师事务所可以在正式法律诉讼开始前,向被告发出制止函,通常此类律师函包含要求对方停止某一行为,并且再也不从事,以及要求对相关损失进行赔偿,否...

08.13.2020
Read more
什么情况下需要遗产管理证书?

什么情况下需要遗产管理证书?

在新加坡,如果已故者没有留下遗嘱,将根据法律来确定如何分配管理他的遗产。法庭颁布的遗产管理证书中将明确地规定了谁可以成为亡者的遗产管理者(包...

08.13.2020
Read more
× Available on WhatsApp now

On 1 January 2020, Parliament introduced long-awaited amendments to the Penal Code of Singapore, following several high-profile cases involving Criminal Breach of Trust (CBT). The key changes relate to section 409 of the Code, and involved defining the term ‘professional agents’, and extending the liability to a broader range of individuals entrusted with assets, when acting in the interests of clients or the general public.

What is a Criminal Breach of Trust and What Are Its Elements?

Section 405 of Singapore’s Penal Code states that a Criminal Breach of Trust is committed when someone who has been entrusted with property, (or who has any dominion over it) misappropriates it dishonestly, or converts it for their own use, violating any express or implied contract, or the law.

Therefore, the crime of CBT – as stated above – has three simple elements, and the description is simplified by understanding each one in turn:

  • Entrustment with property or dominion over property
  • Misappropriation or conversion
  • Dishonesty

The existence of these elements will determine whether someone is liable for CBT, or some other category of offence.

Entrustment with, or dominion over, property: in other words, the entrusted person has supervisory and general control over the property, monetary funds or other assets, which were received in order to fulfil the requirements of an express or implied law or legal contract.

If assets were received for an individual’s own use or purposes, then the element of entrustment is not present. Some examples of entrustment include the receipt of funds belonging to another for investment purposes on their behalf; receiving property for storage or transportation; or the receipt of funds by an administrator or executor of a deceased person’s estate, in order to distribute it to the beneficiaries.

Misappropriation or conversion: this means, for example, the use of entrusted assets or property for an unintended individual’s own purposes, or for the use of third parties. The case of Tan Tze Chye v PP interpreted ‘misappropriation’ as follows; “to set aside or assign to the wrong person or wrong use.” So, a person who does not hand over entrusted assets when requested to do so by the trustor, for example, would be seen as keeping funds in his own possession, and for his own use.

Dishonesty: in qualifying an offence as a Criminal Breach of Trust, dishonesty is a key element to consider. Under section 24 of Singapore’s Penal Code, dishonesty occurs when someone acts with the intention of receiving wrongful gain, or causing another person to suffer wrongful loss.

Another case – that of Er Joo Nguang and another v Public Prosecutor – found that, while dishonest intention is rarely directly proven, it can be inferred from the conduct of the accused and the surrounding circumstances. For instance, if a person knows that the assets were meant for a specific purpose, and applies the assets for a different purpose, without the knowledge and consent of the assets’ owner, then such usage of assets may be seen as dishonest.

Punishments for Criminal Breach of Trust

Several types of CBT offenders are outlined in the Penal Code, with various consequences for each, depending on the scope of trust given to them to fulfil their functions:

  • For any person who is not in one of the categories below – the penalty is imprisonment up to 7 years and/or a fine;
  • Those entrusted with property for the purposes of storage for rent or transportation for hire – the penalty is imprisonment for up to 15 years and/or a fine;
  • Employees or anyone acting as an employee, entrusted in that capacity with property – the penalty is imprisonment up to 15 years and/or a fine;
  • Public servants, bankers, agents, merchants, officers, directors, partners, key executives or those with a fiduciary duty – the penalty is imprisonment for up to 20 years and/or a fine.

The Court will consider various circumstances to assess the gravity and suitable penalty for the offence:

  • The duration of the offence,
  • The value of the property or assets entrusted to them,
  • Whether any restitution has been made for the offence by the accused,
  • Whether any other charges are faced by the accused, in addition to CBT,
  • The impact that the offence had on the victim, other persons and the general public.

Summary

In Singapore, Criminal Breach of Trust is a serious offence. By amending the law, the legislators now have better means of prosecuting those acting as professional agents and/or public servants, who have been entrusted with property/assets on behalf of others, but who dishonestly misappropriate the funds. An individual or company who entrusts their assets to others should always be aware of the vulnerability of their contracts and obtain professional legal advice to prevent Criminal Breaches of Trust.

Similar articles

What is a Notary Public?

What is a Notary Public?

Notarisation refers to documents that have been certified by a Notary Public. A Notary Public is a qualified and practising Singapore lawyer who has generally at least 15 years’ professional experience, and who has been empowered under statute to perform functions such as the administration of oaths and affirmations, or attestation of statutory declarations. The fees chargeable by a Notary Public for their services are prescribed by that statute as...

04.28.2022
Read more
The Civil Litigation Process

The Civil Litigation Process

Matters involving the law are generally classed as either civil or criminal in nature. Civil cases tend to deal with relationships between people, or people and businesses. Criminal matters, however, tend to relate to individuals being prosecuted by a lawyer acting for the state, about criminal matters. In other words, civil litigation can be defined as legal action to resolve disputes between a plaintiff (the party claiming they were wronged)...

05.6.2021
Read more
Nominee Directors & Shareholders

Nominee Directors & Shareholders

A nominee shareholder can be defined as a person who ‘lends his name’ to you so that they can hold shares for your benefit. They act as the registered owner of company shares, on your behalf. A nominee shareholder will appear to own the shares, and you are perfectly entitled to keep the arrangement secret. If done correctly, you keep all the rights and benefits to the shares (e.g. right...

05.6.2021
Read more
× Available on WhatsApp now