如果你是家庭暴力的受害者,你可以为自己做什么?

在新加坡有多种类型的庭令可供申请,来保护自己远离有暴力行为的家庭成员。根据妇女宪章,家庭成员可以为自己或为家庭中的其他成员(未成年或是残障人士)申请个人身保护令(PPO),来对抗施暴者。情节严重的情况下,法庭有可能会颁发家庭驱逐令(DEO),裁定加害人离开居所。

谁是家庭成员?

家庭成员是指:

  1. 配偶或前配偶;
  2. 子女,包括非婚生子女(领养及继子女);
  3. 父母;
  4. 配偶的父母;
  5. 兄弟姐妹;
  6. 根据实际情况,法庭判定应归为亲属的人

什么是家庭暴力?

发生以下行为都将被视为家庭暴力:

  1. 蓄意或企图让家庭成员处于恐惧之中;
  2. 通过明知(或应该知道)导致伤害的行为使家人受到伤害;
  3. 违背家属意愿限制其人身自由;
  4. 蓄意对家庭成员带来持续性的骚扰,使其不适。

请注意家庭暴力不包括合法的自卫行为,以及对21岁以下非成年人的行为纠正。

我需要提供什么证据?

你必须向法院证明一名家庭成员对你已经(或很有可能)会实施家庭暴力,因此为了保护自己(或家庭成员),法院必须下达人身保护令阻止暴力的发生。

获得个人保护令 (PPO)  / 紧急保护令 (EO) / 家庭驱逐令 (DEO)的步骤是什么?

递交投诉信:

  • 首先须上报家庭法院或家庭暴力专家中心。我们强烈建议您先通过iFAMS在网络通道递交投诉信,这样可以大大简化初始步骤,节省时间。
  • 当您去到家庭法院后,家庭法院的专员会对您的状况进行咨询,并且提供必要的信息来保障您的安全。在正式出庭前,法官将会审查您的申请,并就申请提出几个问题,您将被要求宣誓,确认您的申请的内容属实。/li>
  • 如果一切正常,法官将会向被指控的施虐者发出传票,要求他/她在之后出庭。但如果法院了解到情况迫在眉睫,但案件未进入审理阶段,那么法院会发出紧急保护令(EO),来对当事人进行必要的保护。/li>
  • 法院随后将传票送达至被指控的施虐者,将会产生1新币的费用。

法院程序 (第一天)

  • 被指控的施虐者(到该阶段已成为被告)和你将被要求在同一日出庭。被告将被告知您的申诉内容。如果他/她对内容不存在异议,则会在同一日签发个人保护令PPO。/li>
  • 如果被告不同意您的申诉,法院通常会指示当事人与家庭法院专员一起接受咨询,以寻求其他解决办法。这通常将在同一天进行。/li>
  • 如果通过咨询未能达成解决方案,那么双方将需要出席开放法庭(Court1),您聘请的律师也将与您一同出席。
  • .法院将询问双方是否还有未达成协议的事项,如果有,法院将指示双方准备审讯,包括准备陈述/文件和证人。法院还将给出一个再次出庭的日期,以便双方做好准备并交换指示所需内容。如果你已获得一个紧急保护令(EO),法院也会将此延长到下一次开庭。

准备审讯

  • 在下一次的庭审中,法庭会要求双方都依据指示进行准备,因此聘请代表律师是十分重要的。整个过程会涉及到准备大量文件、声明以及证人名单。律师将会帮助您起草所有的文件,并且辨别证人是否是与案件相关的有效证人。
  • 当事人和代表律师(如果有律师的话)将出席下一次开庭。在某些情况下,如果你的律师认为有必要的话,你的律师可能会要求对其他当事人的宣誓书作出答复。你的律师也可要求休庭,以此来收集更多有利证据,比如医疗报告。如果有更多的庭审,你的律师也可以要求你免出席,这样你就不必在最后审判前出庭。
  • 一旦法官判定当事各方陈述/文件和证人已经准备齐全接受审判时,法院将安排另一名法官审理案件。当事各方如需要证人出庭作证的话,需在此时告知法庭。该法官将最终决定PPO/DEO是否申请成功。

审讯

  • 根据提供证据的证人的数量,案件审判通常为半天或一天。
  • 每一方及其证人将与他们的文件一起出庭作证,并宣誓或确认他们的证据。然后,他们将被另一方(有时是法官,如果他/她需要澄清)诘问他们的证据。这可能是一个漫长而艰巨的过程,因为每一方都试图证明自己的情况(要么获得PPO/DEO,要么为申请辩护)。
  • 诘问结束后,双方将就法庭是否批准申请进行辩论。
  • 如果双方有律师代表,则交叉询问和法庭辩论将由其熟悉获取PPO/DEO相关法律的律师进行。
  • 法院随后将对申请作出裁决。除非任何一方选择在命令发出后14天内对该决定提出上诉,否则该事件即告结束。
  • 一旦PPO被发布,将一直有效直至被取消。

如果一方没有出庭该什么办?

如果任意一方没有在指定日期出席,例如:听证会,审讯日,咨询日:

  • 缺席的申请人将被取消其申请;
  • 缺席的被告将被签发逮捕令。

如果我违反了PPO / EO / DEO,会发生什么?

违反PPO/EO/DEO将引发刑事调查,并可能导致刑事指控。对违反该庭令的人,根据情节轻重,将由刑事法院处以罚金,甚至判处有期徒刑。

为什么我需要聘请律师?

  • 如上所述,这一过程可能是冗长和艰巨的,需要准备大量的陈述文件。为了证明或反对他人的指控,还需要准备相应有效的证据。
  • 不可避免的需要出庭,这对很多人来说是相当害怕的。
  • 整个审讯过程将非常严肃,会让部分人感到恐慌。您需要站在证人台上接受对方的审查和诘问,在某些情况下,还需接受法官的问讯。如果对方是由法官代理,拿将对您十分不利。

一名熟悉相关案件流程的律师可以成为您维权路上最大的支持。包括帮助您起草文件,和您一起分析证据,为听证会做准备以及代表您在庭上发声。

Similar articles

离婚理由

离婚理由

在新加坡民事离婚案件受《妇女宪章》管辖。在这篇文章中,我们将详细讲解在新加坡提出离婚的原因。 申请离婚的资格和限制 根据妇女宪章第93和94...

10.25.2020
Read more
制止函

制止函

律师事务所可以在正式法律诉讼开始前,向被告发出制止函,通常此类律师函包含要求对方停止某一行为,并且再也不从事,以及要求对相关损失进行赔偿,否...

08.13.2020
Read more
什么情况下需要遗产管理证书?

什么情况下需要遗产管理证书?

在新加坡,如果已故者没有留下遗嘱,将根据法律来确定如何分配管理他的遗产。法庭颁布的遗产管理证书中将明确地规定了谁可以成为亡者的遗产管理者(包...

08.13.2020
Read more
× Available on WhatsApp now

If you find yourself in the unfortunate position of being a victim of family violence, what can you do about it?

In Singapore, there are several types of protection you may apply for to protect yourself from an abusive family member. According to the Women’s Charter, a Personal Protection Order (PPO) can be applied for by a family member, or on behalf of another family member (perhaps a minor or an incapacitated person) against an abuser. In very serious cases, the Court might even grant a Domestic Exclusion Order (DEO) – excluding a family member from home.

Who is a family member?

In relation to a person in this context, ‘family member’ means:

  1. The person’s spouse or former spouse;
  2. The person’s child, including adopted children and step-children;
  3. The person’s mother or father;
  4. The person’s mother-in-law or father-in-law;
  5. The person’s brother or sister;
  6. Any other relative of the person (or incapacitated person) who the Court believes should, under the circumstances, be classed as a member of the person’s family.

What does ‘family violence’ mean?

The commission of any of the following acts will be classed as family violence:

  1. To willfully or knowingly place, or attempt to place, a family member in fear of hurt;
  2. To cause hurt to a family member by an act which is known (or ought to have been known) to result in hurt;
  3. To wrongfully confine or restrain a family member against their will; or
  4. To cause continual harassment with intent to cause anguish (or in the knowledge that it would be likely to cause anguish) to a family member.

Note that family violence does not include any lawful force needed in self-defence, or by way of correction of a child under the age of 21 years.

What do I need to prove?

You must prove to the Court that, on the balance of probabilities, family violence has been (or is likely to be) committed against a family member, and that it is necessary for the family member’s protection that a protection order is made so that the person to whom it applies is restrained from using violence against that family member.

What are the steps to getting a Personal Protection Order (PPO)  / Expedited Order (EO) / Domestic Exclusion Order (DEO)?

Filing a complaint:

  • First, you must file a complaint in the Family Justice Courts or one of the Family Violence Specialist Centres. It is advisable that you submit your application online through iFAMS before coming in person, as this shortens the initial process.
  • When you visit in person, a Court Family Specialist will counsel you and provide you with the necessary information to ensure your safety. You will then be requested to appear before a Judge, who will ask you some questions and consider your application. You must swear or affirm the contents of the application.
  • Assuming everything is correct, the Judge will issue a summons to the alleged abuser, asking for their presence, at a future date, in Court. At this point, the Court might also issue an Expedited Order (EO) if it considers that there is imminent danger of family violence being carried out and that the order is necessary for your protection, pending the case hearing.
  • The summons will be served by the Court on the alleged abuser. A nominal sum of $1.00 should be paid.

Court process (first day)

  • You will be asked to attend court on the same date as the alleged abuser (now called a Respondent). The Respondent will be informed of the contents of your complaint by an officer of the Court. If he or she consents to your application, a PPO can be issued on the same date.
  • In the event that the Respondent does not consent to your complaint, the Court will normally direct parties to attend counselling with a Court Family Specialist to see if a resolution can be found – this will usually happen on the same day.
  • If a resolution is not reached through counselling, parties will then be asked to appear in open Court (Court 1) before a judge. Any lawyers you have engaged will also appear with you.
  • The Court will ask both parties whether matters are still outstanding – if they are, then the Court will direct the parties to prepare for a trial. This includes preparing documents/statements and any witnesses. A return date will also be specified by the Court for both parties to return, prepared to exchange what has been directed. If you have an Expedited Order, this will also be extended to the next Court session.

Preparation for Trial

  • At the next Court session, the Court will want both parties to have complied with the directions given – so if either party is unsure how to prepare, they should get legal representation. The process usually involves preparing substantial documents, statements and witness lists. A lawyer will be able to assist you in drafting these documents and also explaining which witnesses may be relevant, and which are not.
  • The parties and their lawyers (if they have legal representation) will then attend the next Court session. Your lawyer might request a reply to the other parties’ affidavit in some cases if they deem it necessary. They may also ask for an adjournment if there is a delay in providing any of the documents, for example, a medical report. If more Court sessions are scheduled, your lawyer may request that your attendance is waived, meaning you don’t have to attend Court again, until the date of the trial.
  • If the Judge is satisfied that parties are prepared for trial and have all documents/statements and witnesses, then the Court will fix the case to be heard by another Judge. At this point, parties should notify the Court if they or any of their witnesses will need interpretation at the trial. It is this Judge who will decide if the PPO/DEO application is successful.

Trial

  • Depending on the number of witnesses giving evidence in the case, the matter is usually fixed for a ½ day or 1-day trial.
  • Each party and their witnesses will take the witness stand, and – together with their documents – will swear or affirm their evidence. Then the other side will cross-examine them on their evidence, as will the Judge if they feel clarification is needed. This can be an arduous process lasting some time as each party will try to prove their own case (either to obtain a PPO/DEO or to defend the application).
  • Following the cross-examination, the parties shall make their arguments to the Court with regard to whether the application should be granted.
  • The cross-examination and arguments to the Court will be conducted by the parties’ lawyers (if they have legal representation) as they will be familiar with the conditions required in law to obtain or defend a PPO/DEO.
  • Then the Court will make its decision on the application. Unless either party wants to appeal the decision within 14 days of the Order, the matter is now concluded.
  • If a PPO has been granted, the protection will last until it is cancelled.

What happens if either party is absent from Court?

In the event that either party does not attend Court on a key date e.g. mentions date, date for counselling session, trial date:

  • An applicant who is absent will have their application struck out;
  • A respondent who is absent will have an arrest warrant issued against them.

What happens if I breach the PPO / EO / DEO?

A breach of a PPO/EO/DEO will result in a criminal investigation which could lead to criminal charges. A person who breaches such an order can be fined by the criminal courts or even imprisoned, depending on the seriousness of the breach.

Why should I consider hiring a lawyer for these proceedings?

  • As we have seen above, this process can be arduous and tedious, as many documents and statements of evidence need to be prepared, in order to prove or disprove the application.
  • You will need to attend open Court, and for some this is a frightening experience.
  • The trial process may be daunting for some, as you will need to take the stand and be examined and cross-examined by the other side and, perhaps, the judge. This can be especially scary if the other side is represented by lawyers.

Remember, a lawyer who is familiar with this type of case with hold your hand and guide you through this, as well as being on hand to draft documents for you, point you in the right direction, prepare you in general for the hearing, and also speak on your behalf in Court.

Similar articles

What is a Notary Public?

What is a Notary Public?

Notarisation refers to documents that have been certified by a Notary Public. A Notary Public is a qualified and practising Singapore lawyer who has generally at least 15 years’ professional experience, and who has been empowered under statute to perform functions such as the administration of oaths and affirmations, or attestation of statutory declarations. The fees chargeable by a Notary Public for their services are prescribed by that statute as...

04.28.2022
Read more
The Civil Litigation Process

The Civil Litigation Process

Matters involving the law are generally classed as either civil or criminal in nature. Civil cases tend to deal with relationships between people, or people and businesses. Criminal matters, however, tend to relate to individuals being prosecuted by a lawyer acting for the state, about criminal matters. In other words, civil litigation can be defined as legal action to resolve disputes between a plaintiff (the party claiming they were wronged)...

05.6.2021
Read more
Nominee Directors & Shareholders

Nominee Directors & Shareholders

A nominee shareholder can be defined as a person who ‘lends his name’ to you so that they can hold shares for your benefit. They act as the registered owner of company shares, on your behalf. A nominee shareholder will appear to own the shares, and you are perfectly entitled to keep the arrangement secret. If done correctly, you keep all the rights and benefits to the shares (e.g. right...

05.6.2021
Read more
× Available on WhatsApp now